Annual Awards

Each year, DMM awards community leaders and organizations awards to recognize and support the effort and difference they’re making in the African American community.

Citizen of the Year

In 1931, Pi Omega Chapter (Baltimore, MD) introduced as part of its Achievement Week the Maryland Negro Achievement Award for Distinguished Service.  This award was presented to “the man or woman of Maryland who makes the most outstanding contribution to civilization during the year.”  They are the first Chapter in the Fraternity to issue such an award.

Several years later, in 1939, the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity established its Citizen of the Year award to an individual for their outstanding service, contribution, and achievement to society in their respective field of endeavor. 

Since that time, such individuals as Jackie Robinson (1947), Thurgood Marshall (1951), Lorraine Hansberry (1959), James Meredith (1962), Senator Edward Brooke (1967), Vernon Jordan (1971), and Earl Graves (1974) have received this award. 

Annually, Chapters are encouraged to select their local Citizen of the Year in which qualify to receive the International Citizen of the Year award from the Fraternity.  DMM annually selects an individual from the metro Atlanta community that represent the virtue and spirit of the award.